After the 2008 financial crisis, a wave of app-only banks set out to prove that a smartphone could replace a branch. They grew fast, raised billions, and forced incumbents to improve their apps. The regulatory reckoning arrived later than the hype. By March 2025, the sector had produced one profitable year for Monzo, a $45 billion valuation for Revolut, and fines totalling tens of millions for Starling Bank and Metro Bank over financial crime controls. The question is whether the challengers have justified their valuations with sustainable profits. The answer, for most of them, is not yet.
The core players and how they differentiated
Four companies are usually called the core UK challenger banks. Revolut was launched in 2015 by Nikolay Storonsky and Vlad Yatsenko. Monzo was started the same year by Tom Blomfield, Jonas Huckestein, Jason Bates, Paul Rippon, and Gary Dolman. Starling Bank opened its doors in 2014 under Anne Boden. Atom Bank began operating in 2014, set up by Anthony Thomson and Mark Mullen. Metro Bank, which opened in 2010, is sometimes grouped with them but built around physical branches rather than a mobile-first model.
The challengers differentiated themselves on user experience. Monzo offered real-time spending notifications and fee-free spending abroad, while Starling cultivated small business accounts with automated bookkeeping integrations and lending products. Revolut added crypto and stock trading plus travel insurance inside its app. Atom Bank was the first to operate entirely through a smartphone app with no desktop website. Their technology arrived faster because they had no legacy core banking infrastructure to replace.

Licences and authorisations
The Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) are the twin UK financial regulators. In January 2016, they jointly established a new bank start-up unit to streamline authorisations. Monzo received its full UK deposit-taking permission with restrictions in August 2016 and had the restrictions lifted in April 2017. Starling Bank secured its authorisation in July 2016. Atom Bank was authorised earlier, in 2015.
Revolut took a different path. It secured a European banking permission from the Bank of Lithuania in December 2018, which let it offer deposit accounts across the EU under passporting rules. It applied for a UK banking authorisation in January 2021. The process took more than three years. Revolut finally received a restricted UK banking authorisation from the PRA in July 2024. The restrictions remain in place as of March 2025.
Funding, valuations, and investor landscape
Challenger banks attracted enormous venture capital investment. Revolut reached a $45 billion price tag set in a secondary share sale in August 2024. Monzo was priced at $5.9 billion during a funding round in December 2024. Starling Bank and Atom Bank have not reported valuations near that range, though Starling reached profitability earlier than its peers.
Backers included SoftBank, Accel, and Tencent for Revolut, and Y Combinator for Monzo. The price levels reflected a bet that challengers would capture meaningful current account market share from Lloyds, Barclays, HSBC, and NatWest. Market share data is difficult to verify because the banks report differently. The critical detail is that the prices were set by private investors, not public markets. No major UK challenger has completed an IPO. Monzo and Starling have both been reported to be weighing one, but as of March 2025 neither has listed.
Regulatory scrutiny, fines, and enforcement
The Bank of England and the FCA increasingly focus on whether challenger banks can maintain financial crime controls while growing fast. The FCA investigated Monzo over potential breaches of anti-money laundering and sanctions screening rules. Monzo disclosed the investigation in July 2021. It concluded in December 2024 with no enforcement action. That outcome is rare: most publicly disclosed FCA financial crime investigations end in fines or warnings. The distinctive outcome means Monzo spent three years under formal scrutiny and emerged without penalty.
Starling Bank was fined £29 million by the FCA in October 2024 for sanctions screening failures. Metro Bank, the older challenger that opened in 2010, was fined £16.7 million by the FCA in December 2024 for financial crime control failings. Both penalties were imposed for systems that failed to flag transactions involving sanctioned entities or high-risk jurisdictions. The pattern is clear: the FCA and PRA are willing to authorise new entrants quickly but equally willing, once a firm holds that authorisation, to impose material penalties when the required controls are not built.
Profitability, consolidation, and the outlook
Who has turned a profit
Monzo reported its first full year of profitability in its 2023-2024 annual results, becoming the first app-only challenger to reach that milestone. Starling Bank has posted profitable stretches but has not published a full-year profit for the same period. Revolut has not disclosed a UK profit figure; its global expansion costs make group-level profitability difficult to isolate. Atom Bank has not reported a full-year profit.
M&A: rescue, not strategy
Consolidation has been limited. No major merger or acquisition has occurred among the core four. Metro Bank was acquired by a consortium in 2023 after its share price collapsed, but that deal was a rescue, not a strategic merger. The sector has not seen the consolidation wave that some analysts predicted.
What the fines signal
The wind-downs have been among smaller players, not the main challengers. As of March 2025, whether challengers can sustain profitability at scale remains open. The fines suggest compliance costs will rise. The private-market valuations suggest investors still believe the answer is yes.
Key facts
- Revolut launched: 2015 by Nikolay Storonsky and Vlad Yatsenko
- Monzo started: 2015 by Tom Blomfield, Jonas Huckestein, Jason Bates, Paul Rippon, and Gary Dolman
- Starling Bank opened: 2014 by Anne Boden
- Atom Bank began operating: 2014 by Anthony Thomson and Mark Mullen
- Regulators: Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
- Monzo deposit-taking permission: Full permission with restrictions August 2016, restrictions lifted April 2017
- Starling authorisation: July 2016
- Revolut restricted UK authorisation: From PRA, July 2024; restrictions remain as of March 2025
- FCA investigation into Monzo: Disclosed July 2021, concluded December 2024, no enforcement action
- Starling Bank fine: £29 million imposed by the FCA in October 2024 for sanctions screening failures
- Metro Bank fine: £16.7 million imposed by the FCA in December 2024 for financial crime control failings
- Revolut price tag: $45 billion set in a secondary share sale in August 2024
- Monzo price tag: $5.9 billion set in a funding round in December 2024
- Monzo profitability: First full year of profitability in 2023-2024 annual results




